Here’s a list of presentations and workshops concerning heirloom apples, many of them led by John Bunker. Check back for updates throughout the season to see if there is an apple talk, walk, or tasting in a town near you. Many of them are opportunities to bring your old varieties to John Bunker for identification.


2017 EVENTS

There may be others. Check back here or on mofga.org and fedcoseeds.com for updates.

Wednesday, November 8, 7:15 PM: Brown Memorial Methodist Church fellowship hall, 36 Church St, Clinton, ME. "In Search of Clinton's Runnels Apple"

Thursday, November 9, 6:30 PM: Halcyon Grange #345, 1157 Pleasant St, Blue Hill, ME. (Sponsored by the Blue Hill Co-op.) "Apple Names: What Do They Mean?"

 

 

Previous talks from this season:

Wednesday-Thursday, August 23-24: Natural Cider Makers Symposium, western Massachusetts. Contact aaronburrcider@gmail.com for details.

Tuesday, September 5, 5:30 PM:  Super Chilly Farm, Palermo, ME. John Bunker and Cammy Watts will lead a tour of their orchards as part of MOFGA's Gather & Grow Homestead Tour series.

Saturday, September 9:  Wessaweskeag Historical Society, South Thomaston, ME. Tour of old orchards.

Tuesday, September 12: Thomaston, ME. (uncertain) stay tuned for more information.  

Thursday, September 14, 6:30 PM:  Haystack Historical Society, 1563 Main St, Mapleton, ME. “The Dudley Winter and the History of Apples in Aroostook County.” 

September 22-24:  Common Ground Country Fair in Unity, ME. Talks all day at the Hayloft Tent, orchards, cider, homesteading and more.  John will speak and do apple tastings.

Tuesday, October 3, 6:30 PM: Belfast Library, Belfast, ME. Always a surprise and fun.

Thursday, October 5, 7:00 PM: Vose Library, Union, ME. “History of Apples in Maine.”

Saturday, October 7, 10:00 AM: Aroostook County Apple Day, Unitarian Church, 61 Military St, Houlton, ME. Many educational displays, workshops and talks, including “Fruit Exploring in Maine” with John Bunker.

Tuesday, October 10, 6:30 PM: Norway Memorial Library, Norway, ME.  “The History of Apples in Maine"

Thursday, October 12, evening talk: Wessaweskeag Historical Society, South Thomaston, ME. “History of Apples in Maine.”

Sunday, October 15, 12-4 PM: Great Maine Apple Day at MOFGA Education Center in Unity, ME. Many displays and talks. Dozens of varieties to taste.

Friday, October 20, 6:30 PM: University of Maine student center dining hall, Farmington, ME. (closed to the public) “Apples in Franklin County.”

Sunday, October 22, 2:00 PM: Meeting House (corner of Rte 24 and Brown’s Point Rd), Bowdoinham, ME. “Old Apples in central Maine.”

Thursday, October 26: Old Sturbridge Village, Sturbridge, MA. Possible “Apples in Massachusetts” talk, contact Sturbridge Village for details.

Wednesday, November 1, 11:00 AM: Owl's Head Community Center, Owl’s Head, ME. “Apples in Midcoast Maine.”

Saturday-Sunday, November 4-5: Franklin County Cider Days, western Massachusetts. John will give talks. If you haven’t been, go this year.  It’s fantastic.